Game mechanics

scvngr-cards-scattered.jpg.scaled500

Every now and then, friends will hop onto a gamedev project and ask me to send them “that link you showed me before with the list of things”. Well, in case I lose all my bookmarks (this hard drive is clicking, I can hear it) and forget how to use my ever-changing, ever-bloating del.icio.us, here is the link with the things:

It’s a TechCrunch article from 2010 talking about the various mechanics used in game design. I like to look at it every so often because it reminds me of games that use those mechanics, arming me to daydream about games I loved, hated and would like to make one day.

Super useful. I can’t remember who sent it to me originally, probably¬†@shadowmint.

Leave a Reply

